Where the River Runs Dry

My way of venting out my exhaustions, confusions, excitements, and aggrevations in my world & those in and around it.

The Outsider – Me, Myself, & I

Wow, its been a while since I’ve posted anything! I’ve been working back at the shop full time for the last week. Monday I’ll be working as well after I set up my financial aid and everything else I’m going to need to start back to college in the Spring.

Something I’ve noticed over the last few months or so is that everyone treats me as an outsider. I’m no longer really included in anything and pushed to the side for other “more important things” to take my place. I don’t feel welcome anywhere – not even at home. I don’t know why – but maybe it is for a reason. Maybe to push me to move on with my life and those who are meant to be in my life, will be and those who aren’t, well they’ll be gone. 

I’m working on my Computer Information Systems (CIS) degree and will have over half of it completed within nine months. I know my plans for what I want to do with my degree and have found a shortcut to start a career in nine months instead of waiting 2 years to get my degree before I can start making the big bucks. I have met a great advisor who is helping me through the loop holes and helping me land one of the highest paying salary jobs in the area. I’m so happy and can’t wait until next September. No more having to write for pennies. I am still writing, but most of my clients have hired someone else because I have raised my rates. Blogs are now $20 -$35 per post instead of $10 and $15. Q & A  and articles up to 500 words are $45 each and my hourly rate is now $25 per hour. This is still under the current going rates for these types of articles and posts, but I feel I will still come out ahead with these rates. But many of my clients have looked for writers in India and other countries where they are willing to write for pennies – this in turn leaving American writers with no work. I have also started up web designing again. My rates for that are $50 an hour for now. Soon I hope that it will take off and I can make a pretty good income with that until I finish my degree. Well, I have to finish up the laundry and catch up on some other stuff around here.

Setting Up My Business – Today

My business name is Meisha MacKenzie. I’m setting up my site today.

October 4, 2008 Posted by | Relaxation, Uncategorized, web design | , , , , | Leave a comment